The Democratic Republic of the Congo French: République Démocratique du Congo (or RDC; often shortened to DRC or D.R. Congo) is the largest and most populous country in Central Africa. It straddles the Equator and is surrounded by Angola to the southwest; Angola's Cabinda exclave and the Republic of the Congo to the northwest; the Central African Republic to the north; South Sudan to the northeast; Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, and Tanzania in the east from north to south; and Zambia to the southeast.

The country is also frequently called Congo-Kinshasa to distinguish it from its northwestern neighbor, the Republic of Congo also known as "Congo-Brazzaville". In the past, the DRC has been known as the Congo Free State, Belgian Congo, the Republic of the Congo, Congo-Leopoldville, or Zaire.

Note: On this and other Wikitravel pages within the DRC, "Congo" refers to the Democratic Republic of the Congo.