Isle of Man

The Isle of Man ( in Manx, Ellan Vannin is an island in the British Isles, located in the Irish Sea between the islands of Great Britain and Ireland. It is a British Crown dependency and therefore not part of the United Kingdom itself; the UK is responsible for defence and foreign affairs. The island has its own government headed by a Chief Minister and parliament - "Tynwald" consisting of the democratically-elected "House of Keys" and the nominated "Legislative Council". The Isle of Man is not a full member of the European Union, but an associate member.